Save a Session / Open a Saved Session

There will be many times when you will want to save your work, especially if you are interrupted often. You have the ability to save a session and come back to it later. Detailed instructions will follow. The application will time out after a few minutes of inactivity.

Saving a Session will save:

  • the map extent.
  • all selected features.
  • any markup placed on the map (except callout markup).
  • the layers that are turned on.

Save a session:

  • when you will need to access it over and over again.
  • before the end of the day.
  • before lunch.
  • before any extended periods of inactivity.
  • when you are interrupted.
  • whenever you are not sure whether to save or not.

--> EXAMPLE:    Save Your Current Session

  1. Create a project/session. Turn on layers, select features, add markup, etc.

    Show Me

  2. Click the button under the 'Advanced (red) Toolbox'.

  3. Click the blue 'Save Session Now' link. Follow the prompts to save your project. Like any other program, you are responsible for knowing where your files are saved.

  4. Show Me

  5. To later access your session, follow the steps below.

--> EXAMPLE:    Open a Saved Session

  1. Launch or restart gisweb.

    Show Me

  2. Click the button under the 'Advanced (red) Toolbox'.

  3. Click 'Browse' to locate the session file that was previously saved. Once you locate the file, click the 'Open Session' button.

  4. Show Me

  5. View your session and continue working.

  6. Show Me